add share buttons

In IFS, the therapist helps you identify and recognize the various parts of yourself. There are three different types of sub-personalities or parties within each person according to the Internal family systems (IFS) therapy model:

Exiled parts: These rooms are considered the result of traumatic experiences. We tend to avoid searching these parts.

 ifs internal family systems therapy

Image Source: Google

Managers: These parts are designed to try to protect the self-exiled parts, and try to maintain control of our inner world and our external environment.

Firefighters: As the name implies, when triggered these parts are thought to refer to the parties in exile, helping to keep them hidden. To abuse, a drug like alcohol could be an example of fire activity.

The goal of therapy IFS is to reconnect and work with yourself, the core undamaged and resourceful of your being, to heal the parts of yourself that can cause pain, and achieve a state of harmony. The steps taken along the way to achieve this are:

1. Awareness of the parts. One must understand that a party intends to do something positive for you, but doing so may unintentionally create unhappiness.

2. Learn to access and restore confidence in the Self.

3. Restoring a sense of balance between the parties, and a sense of harmony between them and the Self.

4. Create a dynamic where the Self is the leading party.

How Internal Family Systems Therapy Works